Scientific Advisory Committee

This committee serves as an advisory committee to the Director and the Permanent Members. The Director, the Deputy Director and the Permanent Members of the Center are members of this committee, ex officio. The other members of the committee are selected with an eye toward geographic diversity (both nationwide and worldwide) and also an eye toward scientific diversity, representing fields that are represented by the Director, the Deputy Director and the Permanent Members. They are also chosen with an eye toward administrative experience with other similar research institutes around the world. The Committee suggests topics and organizers and helps solicit the organizers to submit detailed proposals for programs. It also evaluates proposals that the Center receives from general solicitations for such programs and, when appropriate, refashions them to make them stronger and more in line with the Center€™s goals.

The current membership of the SCGP Scientific Advisory Committee

DIRECTOR

Luis Álvarez-Gaumé
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
lalvarezgaume@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2800

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

Alexander Abanov
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
aabanov@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2820

COMMITTEE STAFF PERSON

Janell Rodgers
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
jrodgers@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2824

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Phillipe Di Francesco
IPHT, CEA Saclay, France
Department of Mathematics
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
philippe.difrancesco@gmail.com

Simon Donaldson
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
sdonaldson@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-2864

Dan Freed
Department of Mathematics
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712
dafr@math.utexas.edu
(512) 471-7136

Kenji Fukaya
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
kfukaya@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-2851

Anton Kapustin
California Institute of Technology
452-48, Pasadena, CA 91125
kapustin@theory.caltech.edu
Phone: (626) 395-2625

Zohar Komargodski
Department of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Weizmann Institute of Science
234 Herzl Street
Rehovot 7610001 Israel
zohar.komargodski@weizmann.ac.il

Greg Moore
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
136 Frelinghuysen Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8019
gmoore@physics.rutgers.edu
(732) 445-5500 X4375

John Morgan
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
jmorgan@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2800

Dave Morrison
UC Santa Barbara
6708 South Hall
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
drm@math.ucsb.edu
(805) 893-8309

Nikita Nekrasov
IHES 35, Route de Chartres,
F-91440 Bures-sur-Yvette
nikitastring@gmail.com
+33 (0) 1 60 92 66 55

Samson Shatashvili
School of Mathematics
Trinity College Dublin 2, Ireland
samson@maths.tcd.ie
+353-1-896 1945

Clifford Taubes
Department of Mathematics
Harvard University
1 Oxford Street
Cambridge MA 02138
chtaubes@math.harvard.edu
(617) 495-5579

Paul Wiegmann
The University of Chicago
Department of Physics, James Franck Institute
5720 S. Ellis Ave
Chicago, IL 60637
wiegmann@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4208