Top Menu

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) serves as an advisory committee to the Director and the Permanent Members. The SAC consists of the SCGP faculty (ex officio) and external members. The external members add to the expertise of ex officio members and represent the fields of research that complement the ones of SCGP faculty. Other factors such as gender and geographic diversity (both nationwide and worldwide) and experience with other similar research institutes around the world are also considered for SAC nominations. The Committee suggests topics and organizers, and helps solicit the organizers to submit detailed proposals for future programs. It also evaluates proposals that the Center receives from general solicitations for such programs and–when appropriate–refashions them for stronger proposals more in line with the Center’s goals

The current membership of the SCGP Scientific Advisory Committee

DIRECTOR

Luis Álvarez-Gaumé
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
lalvarezgaume@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2800

DEPUTY DIRECTOR

Alexander Abanov
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
aabanov@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2820

COMMITTEE STAFF PERSON

Janell Rodgers
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
jrodgers@scgp.stonybrook.edu
631-632-2824

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Simon Donaldson
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
sdonaldson@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-2864

Dan Freed
Department of Mathematics
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712
dafr@math.utexas.edu
(512) 471-7136

Kenji Fukaya
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
kfukaya@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-2851

Zohar Komargodski
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
zkomargodski@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-2834

Greg Moore
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
136 Frelinghuysen Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8019
gmoore@physics.rutgers.edu
(732) 445-5500 X4375

Dave Morrison
UC Santa Barbara
6708 South Hall
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
drm@math.ucsb.edu
(805) 893-8309

Nikita Nekrasov
Simons Center for Geometry and Physics
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3636
nnekrasov@scgp.stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-1555

Samson Shatashvili
School of Mathematics
Trinity College Dublin 2, Ireland
samson@maths.tcd.ie
+353-1-896 1945

Anne Taormina
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Durham University
Lower Mountjoy
Durham DH1 3LE
United Kingdom
anne.taormina@durham.ac.uk
Tel +441913343059

Paul Wiegmann
The University of Chicago
Department of Physics, James Franck Institute
5720 S. Ellis Ave
Chicago, IL 60637
wiegmann@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4208