Board of Trustees

The Simons Center for Geometry and Physics has a Board of Trustees which has the ultimate responsibility for the Center’s activities, personnel, budgets, and finances. The Board consists of three Stony Brook members, one appointed by each of the Provost, the Chair of the Mathematics Department and the Director of the Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics. In addition there are five trustees from outside of Stony Brook. These are required to be mathematicians and physicists of the highest international repute. The functions of the Board include hiring of the Director and Deputy Director of the Center, approval of any appointment to the Center whose term is more than one year (in particular, this includes the appointment of all permanent members), oversight and approval of the Center’s budget, review of the annual expenditures of the Center, and review of the various scientific programs and workshops that the Center hosts.

The current members of the SCGP Board of Trustees are:

Carl W. Lejuez, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Stony Brook University

Della Pietra Family

Yasha Eliashberg, Herald L. and Caroline L. Ritch Professor of Mathematics, Stanford University (Chair)

Robert Lourie, Head, Futures Research Renaissance Technologies

Juan Maldacena, Carl P. Feinberg Professor, School of Natural Sciences, Theoretical Physics, Institute for Advanced Study

Andrei Okounkov, Samuel Eilenberg Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University

George Sterman, Professor of Physics and Director, CN Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics, Stony Brook University

Dennis Sullivan, Professor of Mathematics, Institute for Mathematical Sciences and Department of Mathematics, Stony Brook University

Yuri Tschinkel, Director of Mathematics and the Physical Sciences, Simons Foundation

Cumrun Vafa, Hollis Professor of Mathematicks and Natural Philosophy;
Professor of Physics, Harvard University



Nigel Hitchin, Savilian Professor of Geometry, Oxford University

Isador Singer (1924-2021), Institute Professor in the Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Edward Witten, Charles Simonyi Professor, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Study